Today Hubs and I celebrate 28 years of wedded bliss. I say that tongue-in-cheek because, while it has been 28 years, it hasn’t all been blissful. But as I reflect on why our marriage works, I can’t help but think it’s because we both understand we can’t make the other happy unless we, ourselves, are happy.

Take today, for example. We had our morning cup of coffee (he DOES make a killer coffee), sang Happy Anniversary to each other (okay, I sang), and headed out to do what makes us happy on a Saturday. Hubs loves to fly RC airplanes, so he spent most of the day at the RC park. I love riding my bike and haven’t been on it in a while. My son offered to go on a ride with me, so we headed off for a three miles shy of ten mile bike ride (sounds so much better than seven). Later, I ran my errands and we met back at the house.Dinner was at one of my favorite places, home. Both sets of kids celebrated with us. We enjoyed our fine dining outside as the weather is absolutely perfect right now.

This is what makes us tick. Family.

image

3 thoughts on “28 Years of Bliss

Leave a Reply

