It’s a school holiday and I’m stuck in bed. I’m not the “I’m so sick, I can’t get out of bed” kind of stuck. I’m the “I have a really long list of commitments today” kind of stuck. I’m thinking my bed knows me well enough that it’s developed the ability to sense when I need a few minutes. It knows me well enough to predict that if I hit the floor now, I’ll end up in a puddle of frustrated tears by noon. It wants me to cull my list and only do the things deemed really important.

*Breakfast with grandbaby and daughter

*Eat lunch with almost 27-year-old son and his wife

*Tea with mom

*Crawfish boil with friendster*

*HEB (grocery store for you non-Texans) for Easter lunch supplies

*Laundry (only because if I don’t do it today, it will smother us in our sleep tonight-there’s THAT much)

This list looks way shorter than it did in my head. No tears today! Thanks, Bed, for keeping me hostage.

image

*Friendster-My own word to describe my best friends who are more than best friends – they are my soul sisters – my friendsters.

6 thoughts on “Smart Bed

  1. Not just you but I always have a long list all the time. I cannot remember a day where I get everything done. It can be frustrating but I am trying to manage how I look at it at the end of the day focusing on what has been crossed out rather than what’s left. We will never run out of things to do!

  2. I know the feeling when an overwhelming list paralyzes you. It is a wonderful list though, so much time spent with family and friends. I love the idea of the bed knowing you and comforting you!
    I used to live in Houston. I miss HEB!!
    Enjoy your busy and wonderful day.

  3. Perfect title, Smart Bed. I love it! I’ve done the same thing a thousand times but I don’t think I’ve ever actually slowed down and thought about how I was arranging and managing my day by making a list and a plan. Organization is empowering and your bed was very smart to keep you there til you sorted things out!

  4. I like the idea of the bed holding you hostage. I have learned that the days I take a few extra minutes definitely start my day off better too. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

