I’m on a diet. I have to wear a bathing suit in public in three weeks. I’m NOT:

  • Changing the way I eatapple
  • Embracing a healthier lifestyle
  • Eating clean
  • Eating to nourish my body and not to satisfy my cravings

Instead, I’m on a full out smoothie-for-breakfast-and-lunch-with-snacks-that-provide-a-minimum-of-calories diet. Me and the belly bulge are at an all out war. This brings me to the photo on the left. Snacks.

Yesterday I was shopping at Trader Joe’s for my smoothie ingredients and came across a beautiful bag of Pink Lady apples. They were so tiny, delicate, and cheap that I couldn’t pass them up.

Flash Forward: After whipping up my protein-packed spinach smoothie this morning, I threw an apple in my bag and headed out the door. I got a bit peckish around 10:00 a.m. so I fished out the apple from my bag and eagerly bit into it. I certainly didn’t expect to meet resistance from the flesh of something so dainty, so imagine my surprise when I could barely take a bite from the apple. It was so hard it could have been substituted for a pool cue ball. I was so disappointed that I put it aside for a while.

Later I came back to it. I was hoping that in my absence the apple would magically become more appealing and edible. Wrong. It was just as hard, but I was hungry. The morning smoothie had reached its useful life and it was too early for the lunch smoothie. I had to do battle with the apple. I’m hoping that I burned a few extra calories as a reward.

image

 

3 thoughts on “Inedible Snacks

  1. Loved the last sentence. I would hope that you used a lot of calories after tackling that apple. And such a sweet name, Pink Lady. Who would know that under that pretty skinwas a hard core!

Leave a Reply

