I have a confession. I’m a book sniffer. I love the way books smell. Old books, new books, paperbacks that have been passed around, hardbacks that have spent lonely years on a shelf; they all have a unique aroma that gives me such comfort.

Funny story about what got me thinking about my proclivity for book smelling. My house is usually full of people-my grown kids, my grandbaby, my best friends, their kids-my people-my tribe. I love having them here. It brings tears to my eyes when I think about it, really. But sometimes I need a few minutes alone. That’s when I go to the bathroom. No one follows me there and it gives me a few minutes of solitude to center myself and reflect on my blessings. It also gives me a few minutes to scroll through Instagram (no eye rolling, we all have our vices). I love Book Riot and the pictures they post on Instagram. This afternoon there was a really beautiful picture of someone’s bookshelves and, like usual, I scrolled through the comments. That’s where I saw the Kindle comment. Someone commented that all the books in the photo could be stored on a Kindle. Puuuuleeze. Of course they could be stored digitally. But book people, those of us who love the intimacy of actual pages, know that Kindle books don’t smell the same and sniffing Kindle books only leaves pesky greasy spots on the screen. I get that digital books are convenient-I have a TON of them, but I still can’t turn from a traditional book.

In honor of Day 19 of Slicing, go sniff a book my friends. Think about those who turned the pages before you and those who will turn the pages after you.

image

6 thoughts on “Confessions of a Slicer

  1. When I was a teenager living in a small house of 7,and then supplemented with assorted foster children I would often take a pillow and a blanket and lock myself in my bedroom to escape. Funny, with only one other bathroom, no one ever called me on my retreat!

  2. I love book sniffing too! I love old hardbacks with yellowing, brittle pages the most. I too have a Kindle, but I’m too tactile to read books online. I handed mine over to my kids 💚

  3. Have you read The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend? It is an OK book…not the best ever, but cute. However, the main character would smell the books and there was a whole section of the book that talked about how different kinds of books smell differently!!! It reminded me of your post.

  4. It’s funny because I have some very old books that I enjoy sniffing. One of those old books was a nursery rhyme book given to me by my grandmother when I was about 8 years old. I still enjoy flipping through the book.

Leave a Reply

