I lost my mom while we were shopping today. For what seemed much longer than it actually was, I walked quickly through the racks calling out, “Mama? Mama?” My heart started to beat fast and beads of sweat started trickling down my back.

As I was looking for her, a memory came smashing into my head. I remembered the last time I lost her in a store. I was frantic and all I could see was a bunch of knees and fingertips. When I found her hand, I grabbed it and clung onto it…until I realized it wasn’t my mom’s hand. I dropped that hand like it was flaming and took off screaming.

It’s funny the way memories are triggered.

Oh. I found her. She was in the shoes and a might bit vexed at my “loud” search.

image

5 thoughts on “Memories

  1. Mom didn’t know she was “lost?” I had a chuckle at the end, I could just imagine my mom in the same situation. It doesn’t matter if you are five or many years past five, you don’t like losing your mother. 🙂

  2. Interesting choice of words as you take the perspective of losing your mom. I guess we never really do feel lost. When I was young losing my mom was a bit traumatic, but now I’m just worried I might be missing something fun. Thanks for the chuckle.

    Cathy

Leave a Reply

