Dementia is stealing memories from my dad. It’s wrapped it’s hateful tentacles around his brain. Every day I see how it has squeezed out more of those precious moments – the ones he used to animatedly recount to my kids. But every day, yes every single day, I see how my dad fights the grip dementia has on his very soul. I see the glimmer of who he used to be and I know, that with all his might, he is fighting to remember. And with all that I am, I will be there to hold his hand and help him remember.image

 

10 thoughts on “Dementia Sucks

  1. This post is so poignant. I watched the same with my grandmother. I miss her. Count everyday and keep a memory journal. Let him read it with you if he is able. I hate dementia too.

  2. It is a tough road, I have to believe it is tougher on those who watch. We “lost” my aunt to dementia. Visits got to be difficult but thankfully, she remained healthy and able to sit up and visit. Then, it became her time to go and she had a calm, graceful departure from this world. Thank you for your post, I hope it helps to know people will be thinking of you.

  3. Dementia is heartbreaking. I’m so sorry that your father is slipping away. I know you are holding on as tight as possible. Hugs to you.

  4. Oh, you touched my heart. You expressed so well what dementia does to our loved ones and us. My father is also suffering from dementia so I know what you mean about your father slipping away. Keep writing about it. That’s what is offering me solace.

  5. Thank you for your piece. I also “remember” for my dad who has Alzheimer’s. He has moved in with me permanently for the past two years. It is hard to witness his memory slipping away, but it is also an honor to be there for him. Your descriptions of your father’s experience are poignant: ” I see how my dad fights the grip dementia has on his very soul. I see the glimmer of who he used to be and I know, that with all his might, he is fighting to remember.”
    Wishing you patience, strength and above all continued love.

  6. I’m sorry to hear that your father is suffering from dementia. It must be so hard for both of you. I’m glad you can still glimpse him and find strength. By the way, I like the title of your blog. I’m inspired by it. Thanks for sharing a vulnerable experience.

  7. Thank you for sharing your story about your dad. It’s hard when roles become reversed and we are the caretaker. I hope that writing about your experiences help you through difficult times.

  8. I know this is from yesterday, but this is beautiful–you capture what so many people I know have experienced when their family members slip away to dementia. Well done!

Leave a Reply

